Hanging with Regis Philbin

The last time I did this, the oh-so-mighty Steelers had just won the Super Bowl, and our stalwart crew of Super Bowl reporters was sitting, happily, in hours and hours of turnpike traffic, and miles and miles of Terrible Towels!
Months later, I am still ambivalent about the culture of “blog,” but the managing editor of thepittsburghchannel has been sufficiently provocative to persuade me to try.
Speaking of Steelers, everyone keeps talking about bad calls, turnovers, missed coverage..and Michael Vick. Isn’t it just the Steelers’ luck that, arguably, the most athletic quarterback in the NFL had the best passing day of his life! Whatever the outcome, it was one exciting game to watch–a lot of gifted guys playing their hearts out..
Talk about gifted . Regis Philbin was in town a week ago, and about 650 of us had the good fortune to spend the evening with him.
He was gracious and funny, and he also sang for the crowd at Heinz Field. It was the 20th anniversary of the Artificial Heart Program at UPMC..and Regis fit in perfectly with all the patients, docs and UPMC staff, since he had a balloon angioplasty 14 years ago. The Chairwoman of the event, Leslie Merril McCombs, was nice enough to ask me to emcee, since I am a heart patient..and I also “tried” to interview Regis before the festivities started.. I say tried, because he was so clever, so witty, that I couldn’t stop laughing– even when he was ridiculing me for asking about his new CD without having listened to it. So I shot back that I was so sorry that my alma mater, Michigan, had so soundly defeated his beloved Notre Dame..We used some of our back-and-forth on TV, but I wish I could have shown you his whole performance on stage..I was at the table that included Mayor Ravenstahl, his beautiful wife,Erin, and County Executive Dan Onorato.


Regis was the kind of “funny” that you can’t re-tell — you had to be there..All I can say, is that he got a lot of women on stage to see who would replace Kelly, and Dan was laughing so hard and loudly, that I was sick just laughing at him. One woman talked about getting a pie when she bought her necklace..Another had on patterned stockings, and Regis said they must have gotten caught in the dryer. Erin(that is she with Regis in the picture) was almost fell off her chair from laughing. Regis also targeted her husband-“How old is he? 14?!” then he started making fun of the way the Mayor’s hair sticks up straight. Luke loved it. Belly laughs all around–they are good for the soul, especially when they are for a good cause.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

