Fantasy football . I can’t even decide what to order at a restaurant, much less decide whether to bench a Super Bowl quarterback like Tom Brady–just because somone on ESPN tells me to do it????? It is amazing how many women are now playing. And the NFL loves it. We are all watching games we would never turn on otherwise. The woman in the photo is Peggy Kunicki, our dayside assignments editor. it is a job generally regarded as the toughest job in the newsroom…They are masters at juggling crews, reporters, listening to police radios..Peggy is the Queen of Multi-tasking, but also a Fantasy Diva, leading both her leagues.

I didn’t understand this whole league thing, until the Tribune-Review asked me to join their group. Now I’ve got the bug. Rising early Saturday morning, to try to retrieve a player you stupidly dropped–only to find he is gone!!!!!! Then he goes on to have a CAREER DAY–for someone else’s team. Guy Junker says people come up to him all the time and ask for advice. So now I don’t feel so bad when I poll practically everyone in the Action Sports department. I just wish I took their advice more often..

The FoxSports reporter, Trenni Kusnierek, is in the Trib league, and three other leagues! I think she could win the whole thing, but Thoroughbred trainer, Tim Ritchey is a formidable opponent. Think about it..He evaluates equine athletes daily– runs some, rests others. I was so excited to learn he was doing this, and used the league as an excuse to call him and tell him how much I admire him, and Afleet Alex. Ritchey, a Pittsburgh native, and huge Steeler fan, trained the colt. That horse, and his jockey, Jermey Rose, provided us with one of the most breathtaking moments in the history of the Triple Crown. When Afleet Alex stumbled, Rose stayed so centered over him, and the colt gallantly recovered, to go on to win the Preakness, and the Belmont , after. Whatever the dark sides to horseracing..and there are a few, it is still a beautiful thing to watch these magnificent creatures thundering down the stretch…was I talking about football?

I always wanted to be a jockey…just grew too much—and lacked the courage!!!!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

