Whoa. Chris Twomey, editor of thepittsburghchannel.com is going to flog me. This is a blog I started to write back at the first of the month, and then the storm—remember the storm, August 9th. How awful for so many people-power outages, flooded basements.Trees falling on houses.

Folks in Millvale suffered so much, once again, but there was a lot of damage in many areas of Western Pennsylvania– and never enough financial support from governmental entities, it seems. For some reason, even though many homes around me lost power for days, my street never lost it for more than a couple of minutes. But the lightning strikes fried my Airport base station, despite its surge protector, and I couldn’t get on the Internet at home. Actually, the real reason is– I caused all my software to be corrupted, because when my computer froze momentarily, after the storm, I staretd pounding the keys at random, trying to get it to unfreeze, and I screwed it up royally. So I had to take it to the Apple store and leave it with them for several days. They had to wipe the hard drive clean, and re-install it. What an idiot I am. Anyway, I took a blog break, because I rarely have time to write these at work. Not that I do that much work–don’t want to leave that impression. I admit, I also used the break to focus on the new dog I have acquired. I had to put down my very special friend, Quino, about two months ago, and this dog replaced him. HIs name is Noris, and he is a hoot and a handful, but that is another story. Too handsome for his own good.

But, now, to return to the blog I was working on, a week or so after I interviewed Troy Polamalu. Fitting I should return to it now, because I am sitting in my office, after rehearsals for our new set, watching the game, and Troy just had a nice play in the first quarter. He is such a joy to watch and to interview. The best part comes after the camera stops down, and he asks me if I have time to talk. He is so cerebral, but in such a non-threatening, calming way. I walk away from these interviews, feeling like I have to change my life–his effect is that powerful. Wish I could carry around a bottle of “Troy” wisdom in my pocket. It is a Zen-like focus, combined with a Christian faith that is rock solid, but theologically complex, at times.

This is a photo of Max Starks, offensive tackle for the Steelers, and Troy . This was way back in June, at the Bill and Kaye Cowher Sports Clinic for Family Resources Retreat Center. The Cowhers had donated land for athletic areas for kids who are served by FR- the center that works to prevent and treat child abuse, and strengthen families. They have been a favorite charity of the Cowhers for years. Max and Troy were part of a group of players who came out to help with the clinic. I took the picture of the guys as they headed down to the field. It is the only photo I have of him, since I keep forgetting to bring my camera to these interviews and events, and I also forget there is a camera on my phone. Michelle Wright is much better at the picture aspect of these blogs. Troy made a pilgrimage to Greece in April, and talked about during the interview. Fascinating, because they went to some very ancient sites that were part of the beginning of the Orthodox Church. He is also studying Greek. I later talked to his wife, Theodora, who was gracious enough to offer to take me to a very special monastery in the area. Full of history. How can you live in an area, and miss such historical, ethnic and religious gems? We just get so involved with the insignificant, and the pointless.
Like taping soap operas and watching them in fast forward. I am ashamed to say I do it, and I have to stop. It is like drinking diet pop…Addictive, but it makes you sick. I am happy to be back blogging, though. I have actually come to enjoy it as another form of reporting. Exercising these writing muscles is a good thing…I must admit, I am beginning to re-think my ambivalence about certain aspects of the blog culture.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

