Learning From “Lost”

I laugh with the wonderful people from thepittsburghchannel.com about how infrequently I blog. They have been so kind not to banish me entirely, and I will try to work on my procrastination in the future. A Future without “Lost.”

I have hardly slept at all. Consuming as much as I can on the Internet. For all its faults, the Internet has been the Island campfire around which we Losties are gathering, and sweet solace for me, since most of my friends think I am nuts, and more than a bit obsessive, about the show.

I am completley satisfied, and deeply moved, by the finale. I admit, though, I had fought the notion of a purgatory-like, reincarnation, transitional-to-the-other side universe for the last month . But now it seems to be the only ending that was fitting. And I just discovered, by reading one blog, that Jack was originally intended to die at the end of the pilot, as it was first presented. But the creators deemed him too strong a character. I was SUCH a Sawyer fan, Desmond fan, Jin fan, and Sayid fan, that it has taken the full six years for me to embrace Matthew Fox’s character. But you had me at the end, Jack.

I think this episode,and the entire season, will be watched again, and again, once it is all available on DVD. I have read some musings indicating that the focus of this season was  to get Jack “home.” But I don’t think it is the entire story. Maybe I am superimposing what I want the finale to be (don’t we all do that?), but look at the paths on which the other characters found themselves. Sawyer was a cop, working through his loss and issues. Desmond was working for Penny’s father, and was pulling people together, rather than running. Hurley was telling Sayid that he was a “good” person, despite what others were trying to make him believe–often for their own benefit.

Miles was having a relationship with the father he really had never known. It goes on. Was Ben still alive, or just having to spend more time understanding his failings? And interesting that Jack was a father, having to learn and live what his father might have gone through with him. I  still haven’t figured out when they all died. And Jack’s father cryptically–or, not so–depending on your level of understanding of this, tells him that some have died before him and some , after him.  I am not sure the timeline is important. Ironic, that we have become so obsessed with time in this series. Yet, time–when this or that happened–didn’t seem to matter in this two and a half hour weep-fest.  I do believe that the Island was real–some spiritual focal point in the universe, whatever your beliefs are. And when they took the stone out of the pool of light, I thought, what was all that– let’s take the stone out, put it back, etc.But turning the Light off humanized Smoke-Monster. Monster didn’t count on that! Took his power, so Kate could kill him. I love that. The Avenging Angel! Then, Jack had to turn the light back on. Quite the metaphor.

I am still crying this morning. Partly because it is so damned moving watching some of the greatest romantic couples in television re-unite–I am such a Sawyer and Juliet fan. Even more than Desmond and Penny. But it is close. And, I admit, Jack and Kate had to be together.

But, getting back to the Tears. The greatest gift of art ( and I believe, as wildly entertaining as “Lost” was, it was definitely great art) is often in its lessons. And lessons there are in abundance in the series. It is, after all, a six-year morality play. I only hope I can “let go” now that it is over.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

